Close your eyes, Smell the fresh cut grass, the clean air, the warm sky. Now Open them and upon you is the greatest thing you will ever see. A baseball diamond. Every line perfectly straight, every base as white as fresh paint. Thousands of seats ready for you to claim your own. This is a switch from my normal content, but baseball is near and dear to my heart and I had to write about it. Yesterday was a great and tough day for the sport that I love. I was saddened by the death of Miami Marlins young Pitching phenom Jose Fernandez(R.I.P.) caused by a boating accident. Everyone around baseball mourned his death and it was very hard to watch some of the games. May his soul rest in peace.

Yesterday was also a sad and joyous day. Vin Scully Legendary Dodgers announcer is retiring at the end of the season. Yesterday was his last game he will call at Dodgers stadium. Vin mean so much to me and my love for baseball. I have never watched a Dodgers home game without his voice blessing the diamond. I remember as a young man playing little league baseball. I would walk up to the plate and imagine Vin Scully saying my name as I step into the box. The day I hit my first homerun of my life at 11 years old was even better. I hit the ball to left-center field and as I replay this moment back to myself I can hear Vin say “High fly ball to deep left field, and SHE IS GONE! A Home run By Marquis Cooper!” It still gives me chills to this day. I salute you, Mr. Scully! The greatest to ever do it. Thank you!

What I love about baseball is the fact that you cannot cheat the game. No matter what you do, you have to get all of the outs, you have to step in that box, you have to hit the ball. The pitcher has to make the pitches. There is no time clock to run out. No victory formation or icing the kicker. It’s one on one and you have to beat the other guy. Most people I speak to say baseball is boring. Baseball is beautiful in every way. For every defeat, there is a triumph, for every action, there is a reaction. You have guys who throw 100 mph and guys who hit the ball 450 ft. The great thing about it is, the best always face the best. You see the titans clash every single game. I’m in love with the spirit of baseball. The superstitious ways of each player, the unwritten rules, and of course the most important thing in baseball…the numbers. Collecting baseball cards as a kid was one of my greatest joys. Going to the stadium watching a game and having a hot dog and beer is just about what I would imagine Heaven to be like. Also, who doesn’t know the words to “Take me out to the ballgame?”

I will never forget my time out on the sandlot with my friends. Those were truly the best moments I can think of. My only hope is that my son will enjoy this game as much as I have.

“A ballplayer spends a good piece of his life gripping a baseball, and in the end, it turns out that it was the other way around all the time.”
― Jim Bouton

 

So, I’ll ask you again. How can you not be romantic about baseball?

Define U

Leave a Reply

