“Sweat equity is the most valuable equity there is. Know your business and industry better than anyone else in the world. Love what you do or don’t do it.” -Mark Cuban

Let’s start with defining sweat equity for those of you who may not know. Sweat equity, in a nutshell, is you rolling up your sleeves and getting to work. It is you increasing the value of yourself and your business.

This is possibly my favorite quote from Mark Cuban because it can be set as the foundation to all success. I am a Mindset coach as well as a financial advisor. People don’t pay me for the service I provide, they pay me for the education and hard work I supplied myself with. Nobody knows how hard you work in silence. When the doors are closed and you are alone, your work ethic is what will get you paid. People don’t listen to me when I am talking about finances because I spew the same information they can get by watching a news outlet, they listen because I tell them strategies and ways that they can provide the lifestyle they want when retirement is upon us.

What is it that you are an expert in? This question haunted me for some time because we all think we are an expert in something. It’s not until we talk to a real expert when we realize that we aren’t one just yet. You need to eat, sleep, breathe the subject you want to master. Know everything! Never stop learning and evolving. People need to have the comfort that you know what you are talking about and that you have put the work in to become a master of your craft.

Most importantly, you need to love what you do. Have a passion that is undeniable. Like Mr. Cuban says “love what you do, or don’t do it.” Do not waste your time doing things you aren’t interested in. If you talk to anyone older than you I’m willing to bet that they say the regret they have is wasting time. Time is the most valuable asset we have and it cannot be wasted on things we don’t feel personally in love with. Today, find a way to be great. Roll your sleeves up and get to work. Be Inspired!

Define U

Leave a Reply

